Friday, March 25, 2016

Last Friday of the Month Recipe - Green Chile Stew from Author Kris Bock


When I saw this recipe my mouth literally began to water.  And as I have family in New Mexico I was doubly intrigued with Kris Bock's books!  
Read on but keep a napkin close at hand.



Recipe of the Month
Camie’s New Mexico Green Chile Stew

The recipe and why you love making it:

Hi L.A. thanks for having me as your guest this month. I write novels of adventure and romance, set in the Southwestern United States, that touch on local culture, including food. For my most recent romantic suspense, The Dead Man’s Treasure, I put together a recipe booklet of foods mentioned in the book, including this wonderful stew. It’s great for groups, because everyone gets to adapt their own bowl to their own taste. Love it spicy? Add more green chile! Prefer it soothing and creamy? Pile on the cheese and sour cream. I called this “Camie’s New Mexico Green Chile Stew” because Camie is a character in the treasure hunting series, and the recipe is from a friend who partially inspired her character. 

2 medium onions
1 Tbsp. garlic
2 Tbsp. oil
1 pound ground beef or cubed stew beef
Chopped green chile to taste, about 1/4 to 1/2 cup (you might find be able to find canned green chile in the Mexican section of your grocery store)
4 cups chicken broth
salt and pepper to taste

Serve with any or all of: 

canned pinto beans or black beans 
cubed, cooked potatoes
hominy 
shredded cheddar or Jack cheese 
shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, cilantro 
extra green chile 
chopped avocados or guacamole 
sour cream

  1. Sauté onions and garlic in oil until golden.
  2. Add beef and stir until browned.
  3. Add chopped green chile and chicken broth. Bring to a simmer. Salt and pepper to taste.
  4. You can use it immediately, but it’s even better if it blends for a few hours on very low heat.
  5. Put the beans, hominy, cheese, etc. into individual bowls. Let people build their own blend of stew. Add ingredients such as beans, potatoes, and cheese, and heat each bowl in the microwave. Top with cold ingredients such as sour cream and avocado.
For more New Mexico recipes, download the “The Dead Man’s Treasure Bonus Material” booklet from my website or see the “Recipes” tab on my blog, The Southwest Armchair Traveler.

Blurb:
Rebecca Westin is shocked to learn the grandfather she never knew has left her a bona fide buried treasure – but only if she can decipher a complex series of clues leading to it. The hunt would be challenging enough without interference from her half-siblings, who are determined to find the treasure first and keep it for themselves. Good thing Rebecca has recruited some help.

Sam is determined to show Rebecca that a desert adventure can be sexy and fun. But there’s a treacherous wildcard in the mix, a man willing to do anything to get that treasure – and revenge.

Action and romance combine in this lively Southwestern adventure, complete with riddles the reader is invited to solve to identify historical and cultural sites around New Mexico.

The first book in the Southwest Treasure Hunters series is The Mad Monk’s TreasureThe Dead Man’s Treasure is book 2. Each novel stands alone and is complete, with no cliffhangers. This series mixes action and adventure with sweet romance. The stories explore the Southwest, especially New Mexico.

Buy Links: 

Bio:
Kris Bock writes novels of suspense and romance involving outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes. In Counterfeits, stolen Rembrandt paintings bring danger to a small New Mexico town. Whispers in the Dark features archaeology and intrigue among ancient Southwest ruins. What We Found is a mystery with strong romantic elements about a young woman who finds a murder victim in the woods. The Mad Monk’s Treasure follows the hunt for a long-lost treasure in the New Mexico desert. In The Dead Man’s Treasure, estranged relatives compete to reach a buried treasure by following a series of complex clues. Read excerpts at www.krisbock.com or visit her Amazon page. Sign up for Kris Bock newsletter for announcements of new books, sales, and more.

Find Kris:


2 comments:

  1. Thanks for having me!

    By the way, one of my other novels is free today:

    Whispers in the Dark: Archaeology student Kylie Hafford craves adventure when she heads to the remote Puebloan ruins of Lost Valley, Colorado, to excavate. Romance isn’t in her plans, but she soon meets two sexy men: Danesh looks like a warrior from the Pueblo’s ancient past, and Sean is a charming, playful tourist. Mysterious lights, murmuring voices, and equipment gone missing plague her dig. The summer heats up as Kylie uncovers mysteries, secrets, and terrors in the dark. She’ll need all her strength and wits to survive—and to save the man she’s come to love.

    Whispers in the Dark, romantic suspense set in the Four Corners region of the Southwest, will appeal to fans of Mary Stewart, Barbara Michaels, and Terry Odell. Reviewers give it a 4.3 star average: “A great read with a strong plot line & likeable characters!”

    Get your copy now, free March 22-25: https://www.amazon.com/author/krisbock

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Kris, I'm so glad you're here today. And I picked up your book, can't wait to read it.
    Hugs, LA

    ReplyDelete

Repost.Us